For Patients For Caregivers For Medical Professionals

HELPLINE 1-800-465-4837
Mon-Fri 9am – 5pm EST

22 JANUARY 2017

ALF Announces 2015 Research Award Winners

The American Liver Foundation is pleased to announce its 2015 research award winners. These awards provide critical support to outstanding scientists early in their careers, promoting a new generation of liver disease researchers.

This year’s 11 award winners will join over 800 scientists and physicians who have pursued careers in liver disease research and treatment as a result of receiving these early-career grants. The program has provided over $25 million in research funding since 1979.

“ALF is delighted by the range and depth of applications that we received,” said Tom Nealon III, Esq, Chief Executive Officer and National Board Chair of ALF. The 2015 awardees are studying diverse liver diseases, including biliary and liver fibrosis, cholangiocarcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, hepatitis, and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis.

Irwin M. Arias, MD, a Triple Emeritus: Professor of Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine) Physiology (Tufts) and National Institutes, called ALF’s support for new researchers critical. “We continue to need bright young people who will further advance liver research, broaden our understanding of liver biology and make new discoveries that will lead to better diagnostics and treatments,” he said. Dr. Arias, through his work with the American Association for the Study of Liver Disease (AASLD), helped found the American Liver Foundation in 1976. He served for many years on the ALF National Board as well its New England Chapter Board.

The American Liver Foundation’s research program is funded through the generous donations of individuals who want to eradicate liver disease. Awards recipients were selected by a committee of experts in the field of hepatology, co-chaired by Rohit Loomba, MD, MHSc and Jasmohan Bajaj, MD.

Share this page

Comments are closed.